What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

Have you ever seen those videos where a buff guy grabs onto a pole and pulls himself up as if he was a flag? Looks impressive, doesn’t it? The type of workout he’s doing is a calisthenics workout, which not many people may have heard of. If you want to push your body to do something similar, or you’ve heard of calisthenics but aren’t sure what it is and how to start, this post is for you.

Defining calisthenics

The first question that might pop into your brain is what even is calisthenics? It turns out that this type of workout has been around since Ancient Greece1, and chances are that you’ve done some calisthenics exercises without even being aware you’re doing them. This type of exercise works your body with the help of gravity and your weight. Movements like pull-ups, chin-ups, planks, squats, and lunges are all types of calisthenics movements.

What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

5 reasons calisthenics can work for you

Now that we’ve cleared up what calisthenics is, why should you consider making calisthenics a part of your routine? Here are 5 reasons why calisthenics can be a useful tool in your workout arsenal.

Can be done anywhere any time. Calisthenics exercises don’t typically need any equipment, allowing you to work out from the comfort of your home or in a local park. You can use freely available things like benches or chairs to help you with your variations, like if you want to do an incline push-up.

Supports functional strength. Your body moves in particular ways, and we call exercises that support those movements functional training2. They support the movements we use in our day-to-day, like standing up or reaching up to grab something.

Great for building muscle. Calisthenics also works for muscle building, improving strength and body composition3. This means that if your goal is to look lean and grow muscle, calisthenics can be a great alternative or accompaniment to standard resistance training.

BCAA+Glutamine is a great way to help you further build muscle, especially if you’re exercising in the morning before eating.

Works your mobility and flexibility. Remaining flexible and allowing our body to use its full range of motion is great for preventing injury. Calisthenics exercises improve flexibility4.

For your whole body. Many of these exercises target multiple muscles in your body, giving you a great balanced workout.

Calisthenics vs. other types of exercises

If you’re already into a particular type of exercise, you might wonder – why on earth should I bother with calisthenics? If you’re one of these people, we’ve broken down a few differences between calisthenics and other types of exercise.

Calisthenics vs. CrossFit. The two types of exercises have much in common, however, the main difference lies in that calisthenics doesn’t use equipment, while CrossFit often uses weights. This makes calisthenics an easier and cheaper option to do on your own. If you’re looking to boost your muscle growth, Arginine AAKG is for you – arginine helps with recovery and boosts growth hormone levels, to help your muscles grow.

What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

Weight training/bodybuilding vs. calisthenics. Both calisthenics and weight training can help you grow muscle. Calisthenics will usually also be able to better support your flexibility and mobility, as many people who train in the gym don’t might not work on their mobility. However, calisthenics can use additional weights found in the gym5.

Common challenges, and how to overcome them

For many of us, starting with a new routine can be challenging. Alternatively, after a little bit of time, you might see your progress start to slow. Here are some tips on overcoming common challenges people who practice calisthenics might have:

  • Motivation – when starting a new routine, finding motivation can be hard. Make sure you’re tracking your progress to see how you progress, as that can inspire you to continue. Surround yourself with supportive people. Stay consistent and rely on discipline when things get hard.
  • Calisthenics diet – those who practice calisthenics should look to keep their body muscular and lean. Therefore, aim for a balanced diet with plenty of lean protein, veggies, and some carbohydrates for recovery and energy. A great idea is to eat protein regularly, so add a protein shake into your routine.
  • Progress – progress can slow down after a while, so it’s important to remain patient and kind to yourself. If you hit a plateau, try challenging yourself with a weighted workout or increase the number of reps you do.
  • Recovery – make sure you’re sufficiently resting between workouts, as that is key for recovery. Pay attention to your diet, getting sufficient protein and carbs after a workout – Maxler Mega Gainer can provide your body with protein, carbohydrates, and vitamins – the perfect blend after a workout.

    BCAA+Glutamine can

    BCAA+Glutamine

    From 19.49

    Incl. VAT plus shipping

    Four amino acids for muscle growth, recovery and performance
      BCAA Powder Strawberry-kiwi 210g can

      BCAA Powder

      From 14.75

      Incl. VAT plus shipping

      Boosting performance and muscle growth with BCAAs

        Arginine AAKG

        20.85

        Incl. VAT plus shipping

        Supercharge your strength with vegan arginine
          Mega Gainer 1000 g bag

          Mega Gainer

          From 15.89

          Incl. VAT plus shipping

          Extra carbs, protein, and micronutrients for your bulks

          How to begin

          Ready to get started with calisthenics? Here is a quick workout you can do without any additional equipment:

          1. Get your blood pumping with some mountain climbers – do them for a minute three times
          2. Add in some jumping jacks for 1-3 minutes
          3. Do 3 sets of 10 squats. For more difficulty, do jumping squats
          4. Add 2 sets of 20 walking lunges to the mix
          5. Do 3 sets of 10 calf raises by standing on any sort of ledge you can find, as long as it’s safe. If you can’t find a ledge, walk on your tip toes for a minute three times.
          6. Try to do 3 sets of 15 pushups. Decrease the number of push-ups if you have to, or alternatively, do incline push-ups
          7. What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

          8. Do 3 sets of 10 reps of inchworms, walking yourself out slowly. It’s a great calisthenics exercise for the chest and shoulders
          9. Next up, deadbugs. Do 3 sets of 10 reps. Maintain a neutral spine and make sure you’re doing the exercise slowly to really challenge yourself
          10. Plank for 30 seconds to a minute. If you can’t, just do 10-second intervals

          You’re all done! Take these exercises and increase their difficulty or reps, or look for more advanced exercises. If you have access to equipment, include it in your workouts.

          Calisthenics is a challenging but accessible type of workout that you can do pretty much anywhere, from the gym to your home or your local park. This style of workout can help you develop muscle strength and promote core stability and body flexibility. With the tips in this post, you should be able to get started with calisthenics in no time. For more ideas on how to spice up your training or for recovery tips, check out the Knowledge Center.

          You may also like

Was ist Calisthenics? Deine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung

What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

Hast du schon einmal diese Videos gesehen, in denen ein muskulöser Mann sich an einer Stange wie an einer Fahne hochzieht? Sieht beeindruckend aus, oder? Das Ganze nennt sich Calisthenics-Training, von dem vielleicht nicht viele Leute gehört haben. Dieser Artikel ist genau das Richtige für dich, wenn du deinen Körper zu etwas Ähnlichem anregen möchtest oder wenn du von Calisthenics gehört hast, aber nicht genau weißt, was es ist oder wie du damit anfangen sollst.

Definition von Calisthenics

Die erste Frage, die sich stellt, ist: Was ist überhaupt Turnen? Diese Art zu trainieren gibt es schon seit der griechischen Antike1 und wahrscheinlich hast du schon einige Calisthenics-Übungen gemacht, ohne dir bewusst zu sein, dass es sich um Calisthenics handelt. Calisthenics trainiert deinen Körper mit Hilfe der Schwerkraft und deines eigenen Körpergewichts. Zu den Calisthenics-Bewegungen gehören z. B. Klimmzüge, Ausfallschritte, Planks, Kniebeugen und Ausfallschritte.

What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

5 Gründe, warum Calisthenics das Richtige für dich sein kann

Warum solltest du Calisthenics in dein Trainingsprogramm aufnehmen, nachdem wir nun geklärt haben, was Calisthenics ist? Calisthenics kann ein wertvolles Werkzeug in deinem Trainingsprogramm sein.

Kann jederzeit und überall durchgeführt werden. Für Calisthenics-Übungen brauchst du in der Regel keine Ausrüstung, sodass du bequem zu Hause oder im Park trainieren kannst. Du kannst frei verfügbare Gegenstände wie z.B. Bänke oder Stühle als Hilfsmittel für deine Variationen verwenden, z.B. für schräge Liegestütze.

Unterstützt die funktionelle Kraft. Dein Körper bewegt sich auf eine spezielle Art, und Übungen, die diese Bewegungen fördern, nennen wir funktionales Training2. . Sie unterstützen Bewegungen, die wir jeden Tag machen, wie z.B. das Aufstehen oder das Greifen nach etwas.

Ideal für den Muskelaufbau. Calisthenics ist auch für den Muskelaufbau geeignet und verbessert die Kraft und die Körperzusammensetzung3. Mit anderen Worten: Wenn du schlank sein und Muskeln aufbauen willst, kann Calisthenics eine gute Alternative oder Ergänzung zum normalen Krafttraining sein.

Besonders wenn du morgens vor dem Essen trainierst, ist BCAA+Glutamine eine großartige Möglichkeit, den Muskelaufbau zu unterstützen.

Fördert die Beweglichkeit und Flexibilität. Um Verletzungen vorzubeugen, ist es wichtig, beweglich zu bleiben. So kann der Körper seinen vollen Bewegungsradius nutzen. Calisthenics-Übungen verbessern die Beweglichkeit4.

Für den ganzen Körper. Bei vielen dieser Übungen werden mehrere Muskeln in deinem Körper beansprucht, so dass du ein ausgewogenes Training absolvieren kannst.

Calisthenics im Vergleich zu anderen Übungen

Wenn du bereits eine bestimmte Art von Übungen magst, fragst du dich vielleicht: Warum sollte ich mich für Calisthenics interessieren? Für den Fall, dass du zu diesen Menschen gehörst, haben wir ein paar Unterschiede zwischen Calisthenics und anderen Arten von Übungen herausgearbeitet.

Calisthenics vs. CrossFit. Der Hauptunterschied ist, dass beim Calisthenics keine Geräte zum Einsatz kommen, während beim CrossFit oft Gewichte im Spiel sind. Dadurch wird Calisthenics zu einer einfacheren und kostengünstigeren Option, die selbst durchgeführt werden kann.

What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

Krafttraining/Bodybuilding vs. Calisthenics. Beim Muskelaufbau können dir sowohl Calisthenics als auch Krafttraining helfen. Calisthenics kann dir auch helfen, deine Flexibilität und Beweglichkeit zu verbessern. Denn viele Menschen, die im Fitnessstudio trainieren, arbeiten nicht unbedingt an ihrer Beweglichkeit. Zusätzliche Gewichte, die du im Fitnessstudio findest, können jedoch bei Calisthenics verwendet werden5. Wenn du dein Muskelwachstum anregen möchtest, ist Arginin AAKG genau das Richtige für dich. Arginin hilft bei der Regeneration und erhöht den Wachstumshormonspiegel, damit deine Muskeln wachsen können.

Die häufigsten Herausforderungen – und wie man sie meistert

Der Beginn einer neuen Routine kann für viele von uns eine Herausforderung sein. Oder du stellst fest, dass du nach einiger Zeit nur noch langsam Fortschritte machst. Um die häufigsten Herausforderungen beim Turnen zu überwinden, findest du hier einige Tipps:

  • Motivation – Es kann schwierig sein, sich selbst zu motivieren, wenn man eine neue Routine beginnt. Achte darauf, dass du deine Fortschritte beobachtest und siehst, wie du dich weiterentwickelst, denn das kann dich inspirieren, weiterzumachen. Umgib dich mit Menschen, die dich unterstützen. Bleib bei der Sache und verlasse dich auf deine Disziplin, wenn die Dinge schwierig werden.
  • Calisthenics-Ernährung – Wer Calisthenics betreibt, sollte darauf achten, dass sein Körper muskulös und schlank bleibt. Dazu gehört eine ausgewogene Ernährung mit viel magerem Eiweiß, Gemüse und Kohlenhydraten, um zu regenerieren und Energie zu tanken. Eine gute Idee ist die regelmäßige Einnahme von Eiweiß.
  • Fortschritte – Fortschritte können nach einer Weile langsamer werden. Deshalb ist es wichtig, geduldig und gut zu dir selbst zu sein. Wenn du auf ein Plateau stößt, versuche es mit einer Herausforderung in Form von Gewichtstraining oder der Erhöhung der Anzahl der Wiederholungen.
  • Erholung – Sorge dafür, dass du dich zwischen den Trainingseinheiten ausreichend erholst, denn das ist der Schlüssel zur Erholung. Achte auf deine Ernährung und nimm nach dem Training ausreichend Eiweiß und Kohlenhydrate auf – Maxler Mega Gainer liefert Protein, Kohlenhydrat und Vitamin – die perfekte Mischung nach dem Training.

    BCAA+Glutamine can

    BCAA+Glutamine

    Ab19.49

    Incl. VAT plus shipping

    Vier Aminosäuren für Muskelaufbau, Wiederherstellung und Leistung
      BCAA Powder Strawberry-kiwi 210g can

      BCAA Powder

      Ab14.75

      Incl. VAT plus shipping

      Leistungssteigerung und Muskelwachstum mit BCAAs

        Arginine AAKG

        20.85

        Incl. VAT plus shipping

        Veganes Arginin zur Kraftsteigerung
          Mega Gainer 1000 g bag

          Mega Gainer

          Ab15.89

          Incl. VAT plus shipping

          Zusätzliche Kohlenhydrate, Protein und Mikronährstoffe für Gewichtszunahme

          Wie anfangen?

          Bereit für Calisthenics? Hier ist eine schnelle Übung, die du ohne zusätzliche Ausrüstung machen kannst:

          1. Bringe dein Blut in Schwung, indem du dreimal eine Minute lang ein paar Bergsteigerübungen machst.
          2. Mache ein paar Hampelmänner für 1-3 Minuten.
          3. Mache 3 Serien von je 10 Kniebeugen. Mache Hampelmänner für einen höheren Schwierigkeitsgrad.
          4. Mache 2 Sätze à 20 Ausfallschritte.
          5. Stelle dich auf eine beliebige Kante, die du finden kannst, und mache 3 Sätze à 10 Wadenbeugen, solange es sicher ist. Wenn du keine Kante findest, stelle dich auf die Zehenspitzen und mache 3 Sätze à 1 Minute, wenn du keine Kante findest.
          6. Versuche, 3 Serien von je 15 Liegestützen zu machen. Wenn nötig, reduziere die Anzahl der Liegestütze. Alternativ kannst du auch schräge Liegestütze machen.
          7. What is Calisthenics? Your Step-by-Step Guide

          8. Mache 3 Sätze mit je 10 Wiederholungen von Inchworms. Das ist eine gute Übung für Brust und Schultern.
          9. Als nächstes kommen die Deadbugs. Mache 3 Sätze mit je 10 Wiederholungen. Um dich wirklich zu fordern, halte deine Wirbelsäule neutral und achte darauf, dass du die Übung langsam ausführst.
          10. Halte das Brett zwischen 30 Sekunden und einer Minute. Mache einfach 10-Sekunden-Intervalle, wenn du das nicht schaffst.

          Du bist fertig! Erhöhe den Schwierigkeitsgrad oder die Anzahl der Wiederholungen bei diesen Übungen oder suche nach Übungen für Fortgeschrittene. Baue sie in dein Training ein, wenn du Zugang zu Geräten hast.

          Calisthenics ist ein anspruchsvolles, aber leicht zugängliches Training, das du fast überall machen kannst – im Fitnessstudio, zu Hause oder im Park um die Ecke. Calisthenics kann dir helfen, deine Muskeln zu stärken und deinen Körper zu stabilisieren und zu flexibilisieren. Wenn du die Tipps in diesem Artikel befolgst, solltest du in der Lage sein, im Handumdrehen mit dem Training zu beginnen. Im Lernzentrum findest du weitere Ideen, wie du dein Training abwechslungsreicher gestalten kannst, und Tipps zur Erholung.

          FÜR DICH EMPFOHLEN